An Ode to Dunkin Donuts

If you would have told me 15 years ago that as an adult I was going to be obsessed with coffee I would have laughed in your face. I never understood how and why people were obsessed with it. My parents drank coffee in the morning and at night after dinner. My dad always drank his coffee black, and my mom always had hers with evaporated milk and sugar. Coffee never appealed to me.

My addiction to all things coffee began when I was 20.  I had dropped out of college and decided  that I would much rather have a job. This job required me to get up every morning at 5:30. I needed something to perk me up in the morning, and Mountain Dew was not cutting it. I decided on my way to work to grab a coffee at the nearest Dunks.

Living in Massachusetts, Dunkin Donuts is a staple. They are everywhere. One day I decided to stop and try a medium iced french vanilla coffee.  It was delicious. From there on out, I am addicted. In 11 years, I have had an ice coffee every single day from Dunkin Donuts (except those days were we get horrible snow storms) and I have never turned back. I go to the same Dunkin’s all of the time. Over time, you learn about the employees and their coffee making habits. Some employees make an excellent cup of coffee and once in a while you will have an employee who is clueless. Over time those employees go or stay and they get better with orders.  Dunkin Donuts is always changing but their coffee remains a constant.  If I drink coffee from like Honey Dew or McDonalds or Starbucks I feel like I am cheating on a loved one. Don’t get me wrong, I love these chains.  However, Dunkin Donuts will always be my go to.

As I sit here and sip on my large iced caramel mocha regular.  I can’t help but thank Dunkin Donuts for my love of coffee.

-KD

Author: frecklesandfunblog

Just a fun loving Massachusetts girl who loves quirky and weird things. I love food, I love nerdy things, I love board games.

Leave a Reply

